If you’re no longer using your Google My Business account and would like to delete it, follow the steps in this article.
Checkout this video:
Introduction: Why You Might Need to Delete Your Google My Business Account
There are a few reasons why you might need to delete your Google My Business (GMB) account. Maybe you’re no longer in business, or you’ve moved and can’t continue to manage the account. You might also have created duplicate listings by mistake, or claimed an old listing that doesn’t belong to you.
In any case, if you need to delete your GMB account, this article will show you how.
How to Delete Your Google My Business Account
If you’re no longer using your Google My Business account, you can delete it. Once you delete your account, it will no longer appear on Google Maps or Search.
Before you delete your account:
-Make sure you’ve downloaded any information you want to keep, such as photos
-If you have more than one location, deleting a location will remove all of its reviews, photos and other information from Google
-If you own or manage multiple businesses under the same account, deleting the account will remove all of them
To delete your business:
-Sign in to Google My Business.
-If you have multiple locations, open the location you want to delete.
-Click Info from the menu.
-Scroll to the bottom and click Delete this business or location.
-Click Delete my business.
What Happens When You Delete Your Google My Business Account
When you delete your Google My Business (GMB) account, your business information will no longer appear on Google Maps, Search, and other Google properties. However, it can take up to 90 days for all your information to be completely removed from our systems.
If you delete your GMB listing, you will lose all your reviews, photos, videos, and other static content associated with your listing. We strongly advise against deleting your listing unless you are absolutely sure that you do not want your business to appear on Google.
How to Avoid Deleting Your Google My Business Account
There are a number of reasons why you might want to delete your Google My Business (GMB) account. Maybe you’re no longer in business, or you’ve created a duplicate listing by mistake. Maybe you just don’t need a GMB listing anymore.
Whatever the reason, it’s not hard to delete your GMB account. But before you do, there are a few things you should know.
For starters, deleting your GMB account will also delete any reviews, photos, and other information associated with that account. So if you have a GMB listing that’s been around for awhile and has some good reviews and photos, you might want to think twice before deleting it.
Second, once you delete your GMB account, there’s no way to get it back. So if you change your mind later on, you’ll have to start from scratch and create a new listing.
Finally, deleting your GMB listing will also remove any information about your business from Google Maps. So if someone does a search for your business name or category, they won’t find anything.
Deleting your GMB listing is permanent, so be sure you really want to do it before you take the plunge.
How to Recover Your Google My Business Account
If you’ve lost access to your Google My Business account, there are a few things you can do to try and recover it.
First, try logging in with any alternate email accounts that may be associated with your account. If you’re still having trouble, you can fill out this form to request help from Google.
If you’re unable to recover your account, you’ll need to create a new one.
If you’ve decided that you no longer want to use Google My Business, you can delete your account at any time. To do so, simply sign in to your account and click on the “Delete Account” button. You will be asked to confirm your decision, and once you do, your account will be deleted.